Tribute Scholarship Program

The Osteopathic Founders Foundation’s Tribute Scholarship program is open to those students who are invited to apply based upon academic standing at the Oklahoma State University College of Osteopathic Medicine. These scholarships are presented annually by the Foundation.

The selection committee, composed of members of the Foundation’s Board of Directors and the current year’s Outstanding Physician honoree, evaluate several criteria in awarding the Tribute Scholarships. In addition to a required ranking in the top 20% of the OSU-COM third year class, we consider the student’s educational history, extracurricular history including community volunteer activities, college ambassadorship, and involvement in the osteopathic profession. Applicants are also asked to submit a written personal statement discussing the reasons for pursuing a career in osteopathic medicine as well as anticipated residency and practice goals.

The recipient of the Outstanding Scholar Award, which is presented in recognition of the Foundation’s current Outstanding Physician honoree, receives a $10,000 scholarship to be used during his/her fourth year of study. Recipients of other Tribute Scholarships receive awards of up to $5,000. Scholarship recipients are invited to attend a dinner with the Foundation’s Board of Directors to receive their awards.

Members of the 2020 Scholarship Committee include Dr. Danny Thomason, Dr. Tom Hamilton and Dr. Kayse Shrum.

2020 Tribute Awards

The Osteopathic Founders Foundation’s Tribute Scholars are recognized annually for high academic achievement, outstanding college ambassadorship, and meaningful community service. These highly competitive awards are granted to two students, chosen from among the top 20% of the third year class at Oklahoma State University College of Osteopathic Medicine. It is a challenging task for the Scholarship Committee to review the impressive accomplishments of these young student doctors.

Picture - Ottwell, Ryan

The recipient of the 2020 Osteopathic Founders Foundation Outstanding Scholar Award which is given annually in honor of the Foundation’s Outstanding Physician honoree is Ryan Ottwell. Ryan graduated from Northeastern State University, where he gave up his plans to become a professional bass fisherman, but graduated cum laude with a degree in cellular biology!  That led him to OSU-COM where he is ranked first in the class of 2021. He has embraced both a teaching and leadership role while at OSU, serving as the Lead Student Coordinator for the research rotation month for third year students and the student coordinator for the June summer research cohort. He designed a board review program for the class of 2022 and coordinated a biomedical foundation course review for first year students.

He has been an active volunteer at the Tulsa Day Center, Neighbors Along the Line Clinic and the Arubah Clinic but still finds time for a little fishing and kayaking with friends and family. Ryan hopes to match into a dermatology residency program and, eventually, to be able to serve the northeast Oklahoma community by practicing and providing dermatology experiences to local medical students.

Picture - Hardy, Rachel

The winner of the 2020 Osteopathic Tribute Scholarship is Rachel Hardy. Rachel began her research and publication experience as an undergraduate student at OU working in the Integrative Cardiorespiratory Physiology Lab and has continued a robust research schedule at OSU-CHS. She has served as the AMSA Chapter President and as the OSU-COM Chapter National Liaison to the Student Osteopathic Surgery Association. She was appointed a member of the curriculum committee and also served as the SGA wellness chair, as a student ambassador, and as coordinator for the St. Baldrick’s Foundation fundraising event for childhood cancer. Rachel intends to pursue a general surgery residency followed by a surgical oncology fellowship before returning to Oklahoma to pursue both a clinical practice and research activity at a comprehensive cancer center.

Past Recipients

2012Kyle F. SummersJessee K. Bustinza
2013Clay M. MerrittMatthew L. Sullivan
2014Rachael A. HaydenJ. Adam Hawkins
2015Mohamad H. KhattabCaleb Scheckel
2016Clayton S. FarahaniTrevor J. Conner
2017W. Daniel ChapmanDanielle L. Strawn
2018Michael SuttonJordan Wiebe
2019Taran Valdivia CarlisleCourtney Cook
2020Ryan OtwellRachel Hardy

Osteopathic Founders Foundation

8801 South Yale Ave., Suite 400 | Tulsa, Oklahoma 74137 | P (918) 551-7300 | F (918) 551-7336