booksMembers of the 2018 Scholarship Committee include Dr. Mousumi Som, Chair; Dr. J. Martin Beal; Dr. Jeffrey Stroup; and Dr. Jeremy Fullingim.


The Osteopathic Founders Foundation’s Tribute Scholarship program is open to those students who are invited to apply based upon academic standing at the Oklahoma State University College of Osteopathic Medicine. These scholarships are presented annually by the Foundation.

The selection committee, composed of three members of the Foundation’s Board of Directors and the current year’s Outstanding Physician honoree evaluate several criteria in awarding the Tribute Scholarships. In addition to a required ranking in the top 20% of the OSU-COM third year class, we consider the student’s educational history and extracurricular history, including community volunteer activities, college ambassadorship, and involvement in the osteopathic profession. Applicants are also asked to submit an essay, of up to 600 words, on a topic selected annually by the scholarship committee.

The recipient of the Outstanding Scholar Award, which is presented in recognition of the Foundation’s current Outstanding Physician honoree, receives a $10,000 scholarship to be used during his/her fourth year of study. Recipients of other Tribute Scholarships receive awards of up to $5,000. Scholarship recipients are invited to attend a dinner with the Foundation’s Board of Directors to receive their awards.


The Osteopathic Founders Foundation’s Tribute Scholars are recognized annually for high academic achievement, outstanding college ambassadorship, and meaningful community service. These highly competitive awards are granted to two students, chosen from among the top 20% of the third year class at Oklahoma State University College of Osteopathic Medicine. It is a challenging task for the Scholarship Committee to review the impressive accomplishments of these young student doctors.

Receiving a $5,000 award this year was Danielle Strawn, OMS IV. A cum laude graduate of the University of Oklahoma, Danielle has been a teaching assistant at OU and OSU College of Medicine, has been a recipient of multiple scholarships, and has traveled throughout Uganda as part of a medical mission.

Recipient of the $10,000 Outstanding Scholar Award is Daniel Chapman, OMS IV. Student Doctor Chapman has previously received a Doctor of Pharmacy. He is involved in several professional organizations, has extensive volunteer activities, and has participated in multiple medical mission trips outside of the United States.

Student Doctor Daniel Chapman, pictured on the left
Student Doctor Danielle Strawn, pictured on the right







Founders Leadership Award

This $3,000 scholarship provided by the Osteopathic Founders Foundation will annually recognize, honor, and encourage one osteopathic medical student who exhibits the foundational leadership skills that will serve their profession and their community now and in the future.


  • Deadline May 30, 2018
  • Rising third year student
  • Enrolled and in good standing in the OSU College of Osteopathic Medicine
  • Personal statement describing noteworthy accomplishments in student activities which demonstrate the applicant’s ability to be a leader (i.e. Student Government, SOMA, etc.)*
  • Demonstrated excellence in academic achievement (transcript required)
  • Financial Need
  • One faculty letter of recommendation

*The personal statement should demonstrate how the applicant meets the eligibility criteria and upholds the purpose of this award. It should also highlight leadership activities and experiences that add to the individual’s worthiness to receive this award.
Applications should be submitted electronically to swise@osteopathicfounders.org



2015 Strolling Through the Match Video