Founders’ Leadership Award

This $3,000 scholarship provided by the Osteopathic Founders Foundation, to be used during the recipient’s third year of study, will annually recognize, honor, and encourage one osteopathic medical student who exhibits the foundational leadership skills that will serve their profession and their community now and in the future.


Application Opens April 4, 2023 and the Deadline is May 31, 2023 at 5:00pm
*  Rising third year student
*  Enrolled and in good standing in the OSU College of Osteopathic Medicine (Certification of Enrollment listing class rank from the OSU-CHS Office of the Registrar)
*  Demonstrated excellence in academic achievement (transcript required; an unofficial current transcript is acceptable)
*  Personal statement describing noteworthy accomplishments in student activities which demonstrate the applicant’s ability to be a leader (i.e. Student Government, SOMA, etc.). The personal statement should demonstrate how the applicant meets the eligibility criteria and upholds the purpose of this award. It should also highlight leadership activities and experiences that add to the individual’s worthiness to receive this award. (written by applicant)
*  One physician faculty letter of recommendation
*  CV
*  Current photo

To submit an application, please Click Here.

2022 Founders' Leadership Award

Picture - Austin, Jordyn crop

A recipient of the 2022 Founders’ Leadership Award is Jordyn Austin. Jordyn has held many leadership positions in organizations at OSU-COM Cherokee Nation, including being an Ambassador, Learning Resources Committee Representative and Cherokee Nation Representative for the OB/GYN club. She has been inducted into the inaugural class of the Gold Humanism Honor Society. Jordyn plans to pursue a residency in OB/GYN and practice in Oklahoma.

Picture - Douglas, Alexander crop

A recipient of the 2022 Founders’ Leadership Award is Alexander Douglas. Alexander spearheaded the transition of the traditional allopathic group Association of Native American Medical Students into the osteopathically oriented group American Indians in Medicine and Science. Within that group he has led many projects focused on Native American students. He also spearheaded a campaign to establish a chapter of the Gold Humanism Honor Society at OSU-COM where twenty-five students and four faculty members from the Tulsa and Cherokee Nation campuses were selected as the inaugural inductees. With strong involvement in the Native American community and being part of the inaugural cohort of the Tribal Medicine Track, Alexander plans to combine interests of internal medicine and pediatrics into practice as an Oklahoma physician.

Past Recipients

2014Matthew L. Haney and Matthew W. Smith
2015Taylor J. Craft
2016Owais Durrani
2019Christopher L. McNeil
2020Rebecca Gaglia, Anh Lam and Toni Nigro
2021Adrianna Elbon

Osteopathic Founders Foundation

8801 South Yale Ave., Suite 400 | Tulsa, Oklahoma 74137 | P (918) 551-7300 | F (918) 551-7336