Osteopathic Tribute Scholarship

The Osteopathic Founders Foundation’s Tribute Scholarship is open only to those students who are invited to apply based upon academic standing at the Oklahoma State University College of Osteopathic Medicine. These scholarships are presented annually by the Foundation.

The selection committee, composed of members of the Foundation’s Board of Directors and the current year’s Outstanding Physician honoree, evaluate several criteria in awarding the Tribute Scholarships. In addition to a required ranking in the top 20% of the OSU-COM third year class, we consider the student’s educational history, extracurricular history including community volunteer activities, college ambassadorship, and involvement in the osteopathic profession. Applicants are also asked to submit a written personal statement discussing the reasons for pursuing a career in osteopathic medicine as well as anticipated residency and practice goals.

The recipient of the Outstanding Scholar Award, which is presented in recognition of the Foundation’s current Outstanding Physician honoree, receives a $10,000 scholarship to be used during his/her fourth year of study. The recipient of Osteopathic Tribute Scholarship receives and award of $5,000 to be used during his/her fourth year of study. Scholarship recipients are recognized by the Foundation’s Board of Directors in December of their award year.

2022 Osteopathic Tribute Scholarships

The Osteopathic Founders Foundation’s Tribute Scholars are recognized annually for high academic achievement, outstanding college ambassadorship, and meaningful community service. These highly competitive awards are granted to two students, chosen from among the top 20% of the third year class at Oklahoma State University College of Osteopathic Medicine. It is a challenging task for the Scholarship Committee to review the impressive accomplishments of these young student doctors.

Picture - Warren, Adam crop

The recipient of the 2022 Osteopathic Founders Foundation Outstanding Scholar Award is Adam Warren. Prior to being accepted into medical school he earned his Doctor of Pharmacy from the University of Oklahoma and worked as a pharmacist for eleven years. He has received numerous awards and scholarships, has held many leadership roles and is very engaged in community service projects.

Growing up in a small rural Oklahoma community, Adam can relate to the challenges rural and underserved patients face with medical care. He is a member of and held leadership positions with the Students for Osteopathic Rural Medicine, the Association of Native American Students, the Rural Physician Section of the OSMA, and the National Rural Healthcare Association. After completing a residency in family medicine, he plans to practice in rural Oklahoma.

Picture - Feldman, Kaylea crop

The recipient of the 2022 Osteopathic Tribute Scholarship is Kaylea Feldman. Kaylea graduated summa cum laude from Oklahoma State University with a degree in microbiology. She has received multiple awards and honors, has held several leadership positions in medically related organizations, has co-authored numerous published research papers, is a mentor, and an active volunteer within the community receiving the TOUCH Gold Award for 2020-2021. Kaylea plans to seek a residency in Neurology and practice in Oklahoma.

Past Recipients

2012Kyle F. SummersJessee K. Bustinza
2013Clay M. MerrittMatthew L. Sullivan
2014Rachael A. HaydenJ. Adam Hawkins
2015Mohamad H. KhattabCaleb Scheckel
2016Clayton S. FarahaniTrevor J. Conner
2017W. Daniel ChapmanDanielle L. Strawn
2018Michael M. SuttonJordan Wiebe
2019Taran B. Valdivia CarlisleCourtney Cook
2020Ryan OtwellRachel Hardy
2021Mopileola Tomi AdewumiToni A.E. Nigro

Osteopathic Founders Foundation

8801 South Yale Ave., Suite 400 | Tulsa, Oklahoma 74137 | P (918) 551-7300 | F (918) 551-7336